My First Experiments With Django


Funny way to call this post! I started learning about django about a month back. My first exposure to this genre of tools was about a year and a half back, when I tried to do some ruby on rails work. The idea didn’t kick off and I kinda didn’t have the patience to understand how RoR worked. At that time, I was not comfortable with ruby. I still am not, but thats a different story.

I started practicing python roughly about two years back. I call it practicing, because if you are some programmer, then python is probably a week of learning. At least it was so with me. But I never managed the web end of python and I did not need it either. Last week, I needed to quickly build a small application to hold all my research work : thought blog, article repo, and an interface to link the two. It was also about the same time that my guide came up with some turbogears project. I got to see the code and found it interesting. In fact the kid templating language in turbogears sort of reminded me of a templating engine called velocity that sakai used to use. I am not following sakai too closely to say if it still is!

Enough of that history. As I started trying turbogears, I remembered reading of django. So, I just stopped turbogears and started django. And my first app is already out in exacly two working days. Whoa, the last time I ever rolled something like that was when I had to meet a deadline and was working on php. This time, there was no deadline, and the actual code that I wrote is far less compared to what I wrote when I did the php work. Ok, that was unfair because the php application was not running a django-like framework. Of course, my main application is still out there untouched. Wondering if I should give turbogears the try! Lemme see which one gets the better.

Thoughts?

About abiya

An electrical engineer by education, was a software engineer until some time back and am now an emulation engineer in Chennai. I used to play tennis, I still love to! I program a little using python. My latest discovery is arduino and am mostly tinkering with its variants. Entrepreneurship is a dream, but that is for a later update.

Posted on August 22, 2007, in django, python, technical, web. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. nice ! we should catch up, i gave django a shot on dreamhost, it was such a pain getting it to work there. what are you doing ?

  2. I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Leave a comment